2021 Award Recipients

Awards presented at the 2021 OPW Convention

2021 OPW Award Winners

Optometrist of the Year - Linda Medeski, O.D.

Medeski Described by her peers as an "inspiring, amazing force of nature," Dr. Medeski's 30+ years in private practice reflect a dedication to her profession, her peers and her community. In addition to serving in various volunteer roles within OPW, Medeski has served as a key state and federal legislative liaison, a grassroots team leader and chair of the OPW Children' Vision Task Force. This award reflects the respect and admiration of her peers. 

Dr. Medeski practices at the Downtown Vision Centre in Vancouver.

Young Optometrist of the Year - Andrea Morton, O.D.

As Southwest society president, Dr. Morton has fostered relationships with legislators and orchestrated the first ever SW Eye Symposium, providing a day of continuing education to local providers. She is active in her community and with OPW. Recently, she became a Fellow of the College of Optometry in Vision Development. Dr. Morton balances a full-time job as an OD, with being a busy Mom, utilizing her platform to educate about InfantSEE, a public health program for infants, to local parenting groups and pediatricians.

Dr. Morton practices at the Vancouver Vision Clinic in Vancouver.

President's Distinguished Service Award - Christen Jankowski, O.D.

Dr. Jankowski has held a long commitment to his country starting with his service in the ROTC in 1967. Following his graduation from optometry school, he held the rank of Captain. Shortly after starting his private practice, he was called up to serve in Desert Storm. The SW Society colleagues banded together to cover his practice until he returned. He then continued with the army in the reserves until 1999 where he held the final rank of Lieutenant Colonel upon retiring.

Dr. Jankowski was recognized for his years of service to OPW, having served as society president, Title XIX committee member, SW trustee (twice), and legal chair. Jankowski was also honored for his professionalism and support of his peers, often filling in for a colleague during a time or personal crisis at short notice. Dr. Jankowski practiced at Mt. View EyeCare in Vancouver.

Shining Star Award - Cynthia Ruggeiro, O.D.

2021 Shining Star Award - Cynthia Ruggeiro

Dr. Ruggeiro was instrumental in providing members with health and safety information about the virus and vaccinations while serving as a liaison with the governor's office as chair of the association's COVID Task Force. As task force chair, Dr. Ruggeiro provided critical information with the profession, including details on how to practice safely and how to re-open offices. She was advocated for optometry at the state level and answered vital questions via the OPW COVID Digest.

Dr. Ruggeiro practices at Market Optical at the Pike Place Market in Seattle.

2024 OPW Industry Partners