2023 Award Winning Recipients

Congratulations to the OPW member-nominated Award Winners! Presented during Advancing Eye Care at Seattle University on August 11, 2023.

Optometrist of the Year - Mark Everett, O.D.


Dr. Everett exemplifies unwavering dedication to his patients, profession, community, and service as an OPW member since 1993. After serving as Vice President and then President of the Inland Society in the late nineties, Dr. Everett became president of the society again and has served in that capacity for the last eight years. He has been an integral part of the society’s very active and successful grassroots committee for the last two decades, not just locally, but also nationally with US Congresswoman Cathy McMorris-Rodgers. Service to the community and neighbors has been focused and longstanding. After becoming aware a neighbor had macular degeneration and could no longer drive, Dr. Everett transported her to and from church, the bus stop, and the grocery store on a weekly basis, as well as running errands or doing small household repairs for her for over a decade until she passed. His passion for ice skating and hockey has resulted in the building of a backyard ice rink for over 20 years. Neighbors, friends, church youth groups and school classes have all donned skates for fun day or night. Even though his kids are mostly gone now, a new generation of kids are learning how to skate with Dr. Everett as their guide. Dr. Everett has provided co-management services to Inland Northwest doctors at Pacific Cataract and Laser Institute in the areas of cataract, cornea, and glaucoma for 30 years.

Young Optometrist of the Year - Nick Jankowski, O.D.


Dr. Jankowski is co-owner of Mt. View Eye Care Center in Vancouver, WA alongside his wife, Dr. Shannon Jankowski, O.D. He has demonstrated remarkable leadership as OPW's Legislative Co-Chair. Committed and diligent in his advocacy, he served as the primary author of OPW's 2022 Sunrise Report to the Department of Health. Dr. Jankowski’s work on this document was integral in passing the 2023 Access to Eye Care Act (SSB 5389) and expanding the scope of the optometric profession. He regularly attends OPW’s Day in Olympia, organizes the SW Eye Symposium, is an active advocate with the Lions Club, has provided care to rural and underserved communities in Alaska, and offered lectures for local healthcare providers and students at Pacific University.

President's Distinguished Service Award - Krista Kendall


Krista Kendall started with OPW in 2016 as an office assistant. Through hard work and dedication, she learned about OPW's structure, mission, and vision, as well as the administrative side of OPW's daily operations. In 2022 our executive director left after eight years of service to OPW, leaving big shoes to fill. Krista was asked to step into the role of Interim Executive Director. She accepted this role and excelled in it. Many organizations struggle after the loss of an ED. With Krista's talent and leadership, OPW not only survived but thrived in 2022 and 2023. We are very grateful to have her in our organization. For this reason, Krista is being awarded the 2023 President's Distinguished Service Award.

Jack Hale Lifetime Achievement Award - Paul Jensen, O.D.


Dr. Jensen is a long-standing leader in the optometric field of dry eye treatment, research, and education. In 2012, his passion led him to open the first practice in the U.S. dedicated solely to dry eye care. He has been a principal investigator for the FDA, holds two U.S. patents for novel medications, and has been an active member of OPW/AOA since 1983. Dr. Jensen proudly works alongside his father, Dr. Neal Jensen, and daughter, Dr. Alison Jensen.

Robin Cameron Memorial Award - Davina Kuhnline, O.D.


Dr. Kuhnline provides pre-operative, post-operative, and medical eye care at NW Eye Surgeons in Sequim. She is the inaugural and current residency coordinator for the NW Eye Surgeons' Dr. Matthew Niemeyer Memorial Residency in Ocular Disease. Dr. Kuhnline received her Doctorate in Optometry from Nova Southeastern University in Florida where she was involved in the Honors Program and completed internships focused on eye care and disease management from NSU’s Advanced Care Glaucoma Service, Fox Medical Center (FL), and Blackfeet Community Hospital (MT). Furthermore, Dr. Kuhnline has volunteered in the Special Olympics Opening Eyes program, Skagit Project Homeless Connect, and a medical mission trip to Peru. Dr. Kuhnline’s leadership is reflected in her role as chair of the OPW Strategic Planning Committee in addition to her involvement with the Legislative Committee.

To learn more about our award criteria and descriptions, click here.

2024 OPW Industry Partners